Vegankind June 2017 review

Hello, something a bit different for you all today. Another review but this time of The Vegan Kind subscription box. This is a monthly subscription that costs around £10 (depending on the box) and is sent out at the end of the month. I ordered a box for a friend and didn’t cancel the subscription in time before this box was paid for, so it was ordered in a woops moment. I actually quite like the idea, I’m not vegan but do have a few intolerances and so I like to try new products. If you want to try a new box the link is: https://www.thevegankind.com/ and they have snack boxes as well as beauty boxes.

Everything you receive is Vegan friendly and Cruelty Free. Not all of it is food items either. This box came with a candle, not a fan of candles and the scent of this one didn’t wow me but it’ll get used.

The Metcalfe’s skinny popcorn was pretty good, mine were Sweet ‘n Salty and it was a nice treat. Don’t buy popcorn often because it gets stuck in my teeth but it was a great snack for me and was perfect for a movie night. They taste just like normal popcorn so the only difference is that you know they are Vegan friendly. If you’re interested in purchasing then they are available in a variety of places, here is the link to their website for you too look at the different products and flavours available: http://metcalfesskinny.com/our-products/ be careful though as I’m not sure if it is an all Vegan company.

The Goupie chocolates were a little weird, not sure if they tasted good or bad, just strange. I think it was the mix of treacle with dates. The salt kicks in with these flavours and I think that’s what I didn’t enjoy. I think if they were just the Sticky Toffee then I would have enjoyed them more. On the second one I have decided that they taste pretty good but not something I would buy again. Would rather just grab a Crunchie if I’m honest. If you’re interested in giving them a try though, please check out their website: www.goupie.co.uk they have a weird and wonderful selection that I am really hoping to try. Although, the chocolate and lavender one might be something I stay away from. The normal box cost looks to be £4 so it would make a nice little present for someone, an extra treat. The packaging and overall look of the box is nice as well, for a box.

This next item isn’t something completely new to me as I have one most days at work. The Bounce energy balls are really nice but a little expensive. I buy them when they’re on offer in Holland and Barretts. The flavour that has been sent is one I haven’t had before and I have been tempted to try it out. They do a nice range which are sweeter flavours but also a healthier side which are the ones I avoid. This is one of the healthier ones, Almond and Spirulina. I like almonds so that’s a plus, but I have always been put off by the Spirulina side of the bar. After trying it I can’t say it’s taken the place of my favourites, Coconut and Macadamia, or Coconut and Lemon. In fact, it reminds me a bit of the Cacao Mint flavour without the mint taste. The almond taste is overpowered by what I can only assume is the Spirulina which I don’t know if I have tried before. I really recommend these balls, they’re great little energy boosts and additions to your lunch box. If you can’t get them from Holland and Barretts, they also have them at Tesco, or you can purchase from the website: http://uk.bouncefoods.com/ this might be the best place to try them out as you can order a selection of flavours.

IMG_0012

After having so much to eat I have decided to sample the drink. I’ve never heard of the brand before, Sunsoul. It sounds pretty enough and smells amazing; the taste is not great. It tastes a bit like I’m drinking washing up liquid with an aftertaste of elderflower. I’m not a big energy drink fan, I used to quite like Lucozade but I have given up drinking anything fizzy. I found that fizzy drinks gave me headaches. This Sunsoul is sparkling and is supposedly full of natural ingredients, but I’m not a big fan. It also contains caffeine which is something else I have recently tried to cut out. For any of the energy drink addicts out there, you may want to try it out to see for yourselves, it may just be that it’s not for me. The website is: http://sunsouldrinks.com/ and you can purchase 24 cans for £21 which is really good for Vegan products.

Last of the products that can be eaten is the chewing gum. I didn’t have high expectations of the Chewsy All Natural Chewing Gum, but I love spearmint and thought I’d try it out. It’s actually really good, a lovely mint burst when you bite into it and I was waiting for it to be crumblier then chewy but I was wrong. I will say that it doesn’t seem to hold it flavour as long as regular gum but it’s been awhile since I’ve had gum. I usually have Spearmint Smints, but this wasn’t bad. Again, along with the lack or flavour it does seem to become a bit crumbly the more it was chewed. If you need a chewing gum fix then please check out the website here: http://www.chewsygum.co.uk/ they have some odd flavours for gum.

IMG_0013

The final item in the box is a scented candle. They are made by Harpers Candles and as with everything else, they are vegan. The smell is a little strange, quite soapy. I think the scent is called ‘The Great British Summer Kind’ and it is supposed to remind you of freshly mowed grass and a quiet lazy morning. It doesn’t stir up any hay fever but I smell more soap then grass, there is a leafy kind of scent that is hidden within the soap though. I’m not blown away by it but it’s not all that unpleasant, soap is good, it means its clean. It will likely just become a decoration on a shelf somewhere in the house. A bonus is that it is really nice packaging so take a look: http://harperscandles.com/

I wasn’t blown away by this box but like I stated before, I’m not Vegan. If your struggling to find new snack products or suppliers of vegan and animal cruelty free products, then I really do recommend this box. I may not have enjoyed what I was eating other than the popcorn and maybe the chocolate, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t buy it again. I’m not going to subscribe as I have found some snacks that I love (the Bounce balls) and am quite happy to stick with these. Check them out though: https://www.thevegankind.com/ they have alternative boxes if you’re looking for beauty products as well as snacks. They also include a recipe sheet in every box that can give you some great ideas. This one had a pizza bun swirl recipe, it looks nice but I would have to tweak it to cut out the onion and garlic.

 

Thanks for reading and please subscribe!

Charlotte x

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

