Period blog May 2017, and WIWTM

I’ve given you all a lovely 6 week break from overly personal blogs. Now we’re back, so all of you readers that are weak of heart and grossed out by the ‘joys’ of the female reproductive organs, look away now. I wish I could but, unfortunately, I have to live through it.

Anyways, I have been on the pill for the last 6 weeks whilst I have been on holiday and so it’s been a great break from bleeding, cramps and overall feeling rubbish. On the second week of the pill I had some slight spotting that only lasted a day as well as a bit of cramping but nothing too bad, just enough for a liner to be worn. On the sixth week leading up to my coming off the pill I had breakthrough bleeding. This was proper bleeding rather than spotting. I took my last pill on Saturday and remained light through to Tuesday, that’s when my stomach started to get crampy. It wasn’t too bad, but I could only be out for half an hour before I wanted to sit down with a hot water bottle.

Things really started today, Wednesday. I knew it was going to happen and I woke up at 5.30am feeling really crampy and uncomfortable. I couldn’t face food which meant that I couldn’t take anything for the pain, I was also in too much pain to be able to leave my bed for a hot water bottle. It was an uncomfortable half an hour before I managed to eat half a biscuit and take my ibuprofen, which still wasn’t enough food for these tablets but I was desperate. I managed to fall asleep again and woke up at 8.30am to get my hot water bottle, finally. The cramping had eased a bit but had not disappeared. In fact it has been like this all day. I’m fine if I’m sat down but even then I go through painfull bursts. I did manage to have some cereal and take another dose of painkillers at 12.30, which was later than I wanted to leave it but again, I wasn’t able to eat anything. Food makes my stomach cramp even more, and usually leads to me getting a mild case of the runs. As it is, going to the bathroom is not fun at the moment, I am fairly heavy and it just isn’t fun. Thankfully, I am not at work this week otherwise things would be so much worse. I wouldn’t have been able to go in today even if I had been on shift. I’ve taken some more painkillers but I’m still not feeling great, my head is pounding as well. Think I might just call it a night and head to bed, at 7.30pm.

Its Thursday and things are still quite heavy. The cramps have calmed down a bit, they only flare up when I’m tense or standing up for too long. To avoid being tense I spent the morning watching good old family films like, The Secret Garden. It made me feel a bit better if nothing else. My head did start to become achy again around 2pm but I didn’t take any painkillers for it. I caved and took some around 4pm when it felt like my head was being crushed. Its helped a bit but I think it’ll be another early night tonight. On the plus side, I still have an appetite which is unusual for this point in my period. Also, my cramps haven’t been crippling today. I have managed a trip to Tesco and to pick mum up from work. If it wasn’t for my head, I would actually feel pretty good. Oh and the gushing of blood that is exiting my vagina, that makes me feel a bit crappy as well.

Friday brought no cramps. I actually feel human again. I’ve had occasional headaches but nowhere near what its been for the last few days. I’m not as heavy anymore either, still not light though. With the cramps having vanished, I’ve started feeling a bit drained, think I might try to keep up with my early nights in the hopes of getting my energy back in time for work on Monday. This week off has gone by far too fast, I’m not ready to go back to work just yet.

Strangely enough I have been really light today, verging on spotting. I feel like I went from fairly heavy to almost non-existent overnight. I haven’t had anymore cramps but I have felt a bit bloated and queasy today, either its something I have eaten or it’s the last dregs of my period leaving my system. I really hope its all over for Monday, I can’t face another shift at work when I’m crampy and irritable, pretty sure my co-workers and the patients don’t want a grumpy Charlie either. I’ll leave this blog here as my period is coming to a stop. I will take the pill again tomorrow night and will likely be on it for another 6 weeks due to where my shifts are falling. I really am hoping to update more, especially with holiday reviews and even a craft update or two. Its just getting the time and motivation to sit down and write after this last year of Uni work. I will try though.

Here is What I wore this month (WIWTM) 24 pads total which is more than usual

IMG_2237

Thank you as always for reading!

Charlotte x

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

