World of Wizardry April 2017 review

Sorry that this review is a week overdue but I’ve been on holiday. Had 10days in Disneyworld Florida and so I’m now a little jetlagged. Sorry for any errors or ramblings that may occur as a consequence of my lack of decent sleep.

The subscription box that I am reviewing is a monthly box by Geekgear. It is called the World of Wizardry box and costs £24.95 per month on subscription. I pay in quarterly instalments so it is very slightly cheaper than a monthly payment. If you are interested, you can follow this link: https://geekgearbox.cratejoy.com/refer/Charl-MZUMOIKU  If you purchase through this link I get a point towards a free box so I greatly appreciate it. They have other boxes, one of which is a Harry Potter wearable box, filled with Potter themed clothes. Or a standard GeekGear box, I think next month’s theme is Power Rangers.

There has been one major change that I can see in this box and that is its new booklet. It now has a magazine type guide which shows you the items you will receive, the next month’s box hint, and all others details. It makes the box feel a little more professional but other than that I was once again disappointed with this month’s box contents.

IMG_2082

The first item that I opened was yet another wand. They always feel a bit cheap and to make it worse, this was a GeekGear Exclusive. It was a lot better than last month’s exclusive item in my opinion but, they seem to include a lot of wands which is a bit boring after a while. You could get different shades of wand to dictate its rarity, gold or silver. Mine was a sort of woody colour so I’m not sure if it’s the standard wand or if it was supposed to be gold. It’s pretty but a bit pointless (no pun intended) I have a previous two from this box and this is a better quality then those, but still nothing special. It’s not at a displayable quality like wand replicas are but it will go in a box to be played with if there are ever any kids around.

This wasn’t the only Exclusive item in the box, there were also…shoelaces. Hmmm, now don’t get me wrong! They’re very nice quality, house themed shoelaces. I’m just 99% sure that I have seen them before, or at least, very, very, similar. They will be used and I liked them, just not sure they could be classed as ‘exclusive.’

IMG_2081

This box was really treating us, there is a third ‘exclusive’ item, socks. I’ve not tried them on yet but if they’re anything like the last socks I received in this box then they’ll fit but not be very elasticated once on. It’s a nice little design so I can get away with Potterfying myself at work which I usually can’t. I like them and it is a nice thought.

IMG_2080

There a key with wings pin badge, which is also, alright. Nothing to jump up and down over, nice quality, fairly heavy, kind of useless, pin badge. It will probably go on my Uni wall just so I can flick the moveable wings when I’m in procrastination/boredom mode.

As usual we had some posters, there is always one as standard, this month there were three. The A4 print that is a nice depiction of Aragog, and two rolled up posters. The poster depicting the graffiti type image of the houses was double sided and one of my favourite items of the box. It’s very vibrant and if I get bored of one side I can turn it over. This is coming back to University with me in September. The other was a J.K.Rowling quote. To be fair, it’s nice, but I found it a bit cringe worthy. I’m not a big fan of ‘inspirational’ quotes, I think I’m too cynical for them. This one just seemed a bit forced, but it looks okay on paper.

IMG_2091

One of the nicer but non-fancy items in the box, were the Vinyl Stickers. I can see these going in the car once I feel like I can stay awake long enough to drive again. They are subtle and nicely designed. I can’t comment on the quality as I don’t really buy vinyl stickers so I don’t know what is classed as good or bad. I like them, and I will use them, so I’m happy.

Then last but not least we have the t-shirt. It’s a nice colour and I like the printing around the bird. I’m being a bit fussy with this box but, the bird was not representing the majestic eagle (or raven according to some) very well. In fact, it looks a bit too much like a long beaked Pidgeon. It’s a nice t-shirt though and always good quality so it will be worn.

Overall, I’m sure you guessed that I really wasn’t blown away by this month’s box. It’s been too long since I’ve had a ‘wow’ box and I’m really hoping that Geekgear pull their thumb out for next month. I look forward to the boxes but I now have a feeling of doubt when they arrive. I want the old excitement back. Please let me know what you guys think of your boxes, I want to know if it’s just me being really ungrateful or if everyone is less than thrilled with them recently.

Thank you as always for reading, I apologise once again for my rambles, to make up for it I share with you my purchases of Universal Studios Harry Potter world. It’s Crookshanks and Scabbers! Oh, and Peppermint toads! Now going in there was exciting!

IMG_2095

Thanks again!

Charlotte x

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

