Period blog March/April 2017 & WIWTM

It’s been a while since we last had one of these posts. Hopefully you all know the drill by now, look away oh innocent ones. Look away if you have zero interest in my uterus or reproductive system, as this won’t be something you want to read.

Okay, now this month is a bit of an odd one. As you have probably noticed, I missed a month. Due to my pain and collapsing my GP has asked that I try going on the pill. It’s something that I have tried in the past without success but I figured I might as well give it another shot as I was going to take the pill for my holiday (vacation) next month. I have been put on microgynon 30, which is what I usually use without having any problems. The only downside I have is that I usually have worse pain when I come off them. Unfortunately, the first 3 weeks has ended and I’m due to start any day now. I am not looking forward to this. I am taking my normal Magnesium, drinking Raspberry Leaf tea and praying that I get through this coming week.

The weeks on the pill didn’t really show any issues. I took it on the day I was starting, but hadn’t fully started in order to stop the period. I had spotting for the first few days and had to wear a liner but it did stop the period. I usually take it on the last day of my period so this was new to me. Not used to spotting whilst on the pill. I did feel bloated and a bit achy the first week, but my stomach has been off all year so I don’t know if it was being made worse by the pill or just an ill-timed bad week. The last week I have been getting niggling headaches so I hope those stop.

I started noticing a very small amount of spotting today (Tuesday) but not really pink yet. Still have a liner on just in case and I’m going to take ibuprofen before bed tonight to try and ward off the cramps. Nothing bad yet, still have a bit of a headache, took my anti-nausea pills and I’ve been fine. I’m crossing everything in the hopes that tomorrow will be the same.

I didn’t really start overnight but there was still some spotting. I took some ibuprofen starting from lunch when I started to get a bit crampy. I had a module meeting about my lectures for next year that I couldn’t miss and so I was hoping for things to hold off until after two. Thankfully things didn’t really get too bad. I took Raspberry Leaf tea to the talk as well as a small hot water bottle (I looked so cool) and it kept the cramps at bay. I do unfortunately live on campus which is at the top of a lot of stairs and a steep hill which made my cramps worse. They definitely haven’t been that bad today though, uncomfortable, but manageable. I have started fully now and still okay to get food if I need too. Usually I can’t stomach food on the first day so not too bad so far. I’m going to take more painkillers before I go to bed just to make sure I don’t get too crampy overnight but I’m hopeful that tomorrow will be easy going.

Only had a few milder cramps today, they’ve been fine with the hot water bottle but I took some ibuprofen earlier as a precaution. I’ve not been very heavy, even overnights weren’t too bad, maybe that will change tomorrow? I seem to have changed from my usual two days of being heavy followed by three moderate days and two or three light days. Now, I’m moderate at the start. Not sure if that will stay the same for every cycle or not. I have still got a headache, a mild one but it’s annoying as I’ve had it for the past week now. Ready for that to leave me alone. I’m not going to take any more pain killers before bed, but I will get a refill on the bottle just in case but so far so good.

It’s been an odd day today. I woke up feeling pretty good, I’m still lighter than I expected and my cramps haven’t picked up. I feel a bit achy, not enough to take painkillers but enough that I feel a bit uncomfortable. I even managed to go for a walk but still couldn’t climb the hill back to my flat easily. As its getting a bit later my headache is getting worse. I don’t want to take painkillers because my body rebels if I take them for too many days in a row. The headache is definitely more of a problem then my stomach though. I’ve made a GP appointment for Monday just because it doesn’t seem to be going away. Don’t think it’s cycle related, probably stress due to deadlines next week, but it’s best to be safe. I’ve stayed light through today, think it must be a side effect of the pill because this isn’t normal for me.

Today has been a very unproductive day which really isn’t good with my deadlines being so close. The headache is still here and I’ve felt quite queasy today as well. Not been in the mood to do anything, including my assignments. On the up side, the cramps have gone. Had no cramping at all today and I’ve stayed fairly steady. Still on a moderate flow, but more of a spotting moderate if that makes sense. It’s been pretty easy going. I am craving chocolate which is unusual for me. I’m actually not a big chocolate eater, thankfully I have some left over from Christmas so I was sorted otherwise I would have had to go out. Back on the pill tomorrow night whether the bleeding stops or not so it’s been a success for my first cycle on contraception.

I had spotting for the first few days of being back on the pill and then it stopped completely. I’m away on holiday soon so there won’t be a period blog for another 6weeks or so, whenever the pill ends next. I am hoping to blog about my holiday once I’m back but a going to be away from technology for a bit. I have also finished my second year of university now so the craft updates and pad reviews should resume soon. Here is a photo of all but one pad that I wore this month, the one missing is my purple Tortoise Wing Things as it is still in the wash basket.

IMG_2067

Thanks for reading!

Charlotte x

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

