Bomb Cosmetics, Sky High gift set

 

Sky High Bomb Cosmetics

Let me start off by saying thank you to my wonderful friend who purchased me this box as a Christmas/Birthday gift. She had seen my blog and thought it would be perfect for me to be able to review. She was right, as always. So as I’m sure you’ve guessed, I can’t comment on the purchasing side of this box. I had no dealings with the company directly but I will attach their website here: http://bombcosmetics.co.uk/ and for this particular box the link is: http://bombcosmetics.co.uk/skyhigh

It apparently cost £14.99, which I shouldn’t know and I hope my friend doesn’t kill me for looking this up! I did it for review purposes only so you can blame my readers, not me! The products are all handmade and use essential oils only. They also don’t test on animals which is great! Although, not all of the ingredients are natural, only where possible.

The packaging is stunning, its wrapped in a way that you feel like everything inside is a luxury item. I’m not a fan of the use of plastic to wrap them, but that might just be the Eco side of me talking. I did think it extracted from the overall look of the product, but that’s just my issue with plastic. The smell when you open the box (even before you open it) is amazing. I keep the box at the bottom of my wardrobe before I used them all and it made everything smell great.

As I’ve mentioned before though, I do not own a bath, only a shower. So these products are being used as bath soaks instead. Please bare that in mind when your reading as I can only comment on how they are as foot soaks. This means they will dilute a heck of a lot more in your bath then they do for me in my little dish tub that I use for my feet. Before I begin, here is what is to come. A list of the product details from the leaflet that comes with the box. This comes in different languages.

The Chai High Bath Mallow was my starting point. If I’m being honest I found the smell of this one a little overwhelming. My room stank for days and it just smelt like an overpowered cleaning product. It left my feet feeling oily and I didn’t get any of the ‘nourishment’ that was being promised in the booklet. The only good part was the little fake flower on top that I use to decorate my noticeboard. It’s cute! I loved the design of it but was disappointed with it overall.IMG_1950

My next foray into this box was with the Incense & Sensibility Bath Blaster. Which I Have to say, love the name. I’ve unfortunately been studying a bit of Jane Austen in my lectures this week along with other Victorian writings and so a product that plays on the title ‘Sense and Sensibility’ seemed appropriate. The smell of this one is a little more to my taste, not overpowering but subtly floral. I was a bit worried when I placed it in the water and it pretty much became a mass of foam but, it was very relaxing. It did still leave my feet very soapy though and I image this is going to be common with these products.

It’s been a long week of working and stress so I thought I’d treat myself to the Miss Tangleberry Bath Buttercup bomb. Its light scent was perfect to calm my stomach which has been rolling a bit today. Frankincense and Sandalwood apparently. It’s a nice size, and didn’t take as long as the others to dissolve. It’s a very pretty and vibrant blue, even in the water. Again, quite soapy but It left my feet feeling really soft.

For the finale, I went for the massive Pink Rhubarb Princess Whoopie Blaster. This is a beast. If you’ve ever had the rhubarb and custard boiled sweets, then you’ll know what this smells like. Honestly, the best smelling yet. My only negative is that it has glitter. I’m not a fan of glittery products because the stuff ends up going everywhere. I’m not too bothered though as I’ll be leaving University in two more weeks so it won’t be me hoovering it from the carpet for the next few months. This is my favourite so far and I wish I’d kept the top half so I could use it on two separate occasions. Still very soapy but I actually don’t think it’s as bad as the previous ones. I have uploaded a video of this onto YouTube to show how fizzy it goes: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3bnnNEDx9hk

IMG_2037

I didn’t have the time to use the soap as my previous Passion fruit soap from my treat trove box is never ending. So, the soap has been bestowed to a flatmate. It smelt amazing and judging by its size; it will last for months.IMG_1951

All in all, it was a lovely relaxing box. I don’t think I could use them as bath bombs without irritating my skin as they are very soapy and fragranced. If I had used them in the bath I can almost guarantee that I would get Thrush. So, if you have sensitive skin like myself, maybe just use them as foot soaks. I would like to try a few different scents in future and I especially would be interested in purchasing more soap so I can try it.

It’s a nice little gift box and if you’re looking for something to buy for Christmas, birthdays, or even as a small pick me up, this would be a nice little box for you. Please go and check out the website: https://bombcosmetics.co.uk/ or their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Bomb.Cosmetics/?fref=ts

Please excuse the poor photos as I have been using a dish washing bowl as my foot spa. Doesn’t make for the prettiest of pictures.

Thanks as always for reading! My updates should increase after the deadlines are over. The World of Wizardry box should arrive in the next few days so that will be up when it gets here.

Charlotte x

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

