World of Wizardry (GeekGear) Jan 2017 review

So, this month I’ve been needing something to look forward to with all the assignments I’ve had to do over Christmas, and this box was what I needed. If you have read my previous reviews, then you will know that it is a monthly box that costs around £24.95 which is great for a small treat. If you’re interested then the link is here: https://geekgearbox.cratejoy.com/refer/Charl-MZUMOIKU It’s my recommendation link and if 5 people use it then I receive a free box so please use it if you decide to purchase, I will be forever grateful!

I think the best thing to start with in this box are the posters in which we have three of them. Usually there is a GeekGear Exclusive in every box, this month we had triple the fun. I love the spells poster, it’s my favourite of all of them so far, maybe slightly overshadowed by the Proclamation poster from an earlier box but still great. The other two I wasn’t much of a fan of, one is Dumbledore orientated and I have to admit that I’m not a fan of his character. In fact, I’m pretty against the man, so not the poster for me. The final picture uses some gorgeous colours and I honestly wish it didn’t have the little figure of Harry and was just the deer. I find that Harry looks a little demented which may have worked with the theme of the picture but I personally feel he detracts from the image.

Next up we have the t-shirt, I love the design of the shirt but would have preferred the Gryffindor red one, I really wish that the Hufflepuff shirts weren’t such a bright yellow but were in the grey colours of the house as well. As it is, it will make a great sleep shirt.img_1968

Staying on the fabric theme, we also received a house coloured pillowcase. Or cushion cover however you want to say it. It’s an odd edition if you ask me, don’t get me wrong its very nice and I love my Hufflepuff pillowcase but, why? Guess I’ll go and get a cushion to put in it and it will decorate my bed. It feels fairly sturdy as a material, not sure what it’s made from but I think it’s cotton, or some synthetic version of cotton.

There are also a great pair of socks! They have the house emblem on them which is great however mine are a dark green so it breaks the house colour themes a bit. Not gonna complain because I love the fact that they’re a bit darker and I can actually wear them with Hufflepuff pride. I’ll just be a Huffleryn for the day.

A nice addition to the box is the new Gringotts key. I said earlier when we received a coin that I would have rather had a key and my wish has been fulfilled. I’m a happy girl now, and its pretty good quality as well, quite weighted.

We also receive a nice little treat with this box, a jar of Jelly Beans from Weasleys Wizard Wheezes. At first I expeted them to be Bertie Bots, and I was happy to find normal jelly beans as I’ve had Bertie Botts before and the novelty soon wears off. The jar is made of glass which surprised me but its really cute and I need to think of what I can use it for once I’ve finished eating them. The jar also wasn’t wrapped up, it should have at least had a bit of bubble wrap to help prevent it being broken. Thankfully it arrived safe and sound but to those of you overseas still awaiting yours, be cautious if you see any loose beans.

There you have it, Januarys box. Even though I’m sure there is the same amount as usual, it felt like I didn’t receive as many things as I normally would. I love my jelly beans and my key but not the best box so far. Would love to see a few more collectible figures that can be displayed. At the moment, I don’t have a lot that can be place on shelves. Again, if you’re interested in purchasing one for yourself then the link is: https://geekgearbox.cratejoy.com/refer/Charl-MZUMOIKU

The clue for the next box is a Chocolate Frog card of Godric Gryffindor, maybe as it is a collectable, the box will have a few more displayable goodies.img_1967

Thanks, as always for reading!

Charlotte x

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

