Period blog Dec/Jan 2017 WIWTM

Happy New Year everyone! Hope you all had a fantastic Christmas as well. This post is one that doesn’t appeal to everyone so again don’t read if you’re not interested in periods, or anything menstruation related as this will likely freak you out. img_1952

This period was due on Christmas day which was a worry as that is also my birthday. Thankfully I was once again late. I actually started on New Year’s Eve. Not the best way to welcome in the new year, with stomach cramps and an upset stomach but I suppose it could have been worse. I wanted to try a new Magnesium spray that my mum bought, it’s supposed to help with joint pain and muscle aches and thought it might help with my cramping. It was a bit useless to be honest, I left it for about an hour before I had to take painkillers and even they didn’t help for a good two hours after taking them. I’ve also been really queasy with no appetite and a bit dizzy. All in all, the first day of 2017 has been a bit rubbish.

Day two hasn’t been too bad, in fact, I actually managed to go out for a nice long walk which usually isn’t possible on the second day, not without drugs anyways. No painkillers taken today and I have had a few niggly cramps but not crippling. I’ve felt achy rather than full cramps which is manageable. I’m not too heavy but on the verge of being. I’ve felt drained and queasy so I think the walk did me some good. Got me out of the house before I’m back at work tomorrow. All in all though, a nice day.

Day three, and strangely, no problems again. I’m not upset about the lack of cramping but wow this is weird. I was really light and got away with using one pad through until maybe 2pm when I swapped just to feel fresh. It has been a manic day at work, short staffed and constantly on my feet so the lack of stomach cramps was a blessing. I don’t think I’ve ever been this busy on a period day and not suffered for it, I really hope this sets a trend for 2017! Unfortunately, my overall health has been a bit bad, not sure if I have a bug or am coming down with something but I feel ill. Not enough to stay home but enough that I just feel bleh. It’s not just me but mum as well so I know it’s not period related but I hope it’s gone by Friday as I’m travelling back to the university then.

Day four was the same as three. Still ill but no cramps and a very light flow. Its lightened so much tonight that I might swap over to liners, very strange for it to be ending on the fourth day, maybe my body is tricking me and the second I swap to liners I’ll go heavy? Please let this be my new cycle!

I thought I’d be safe to go without liners today as there was nothing overnight or all through the morning, so I thought I was free. Unfortunately, as I said before, my body was playing tricks. Thankfully it was just spotting but very annoying. Feel okay though, went on another nice walk, but have a niggling headache forming.

I still have a little spotting today which still makes it a six day period. My head feels a bit like its been split in two and I feel awful, not ill, just bleh. I’m travelling back to University today and really am not looking forward to the flight and bus journey. Ready to curl up in bed and its only 5pm.

I made it, still have a headache, and will probably have it for a few more days as I believe its hormone related. Another nice perk of menstruation. I don’t have any spotting today; the only thing left is the headache which I’m hoping to sleep off. Only used 14 pads this cycle!

Thank you all for reading another period blog, a little shorter than normal as its been a straightforward week. Below is a picture of all my new pads from December, can’t wait to try them all out. I used a few this month and was really impressed with their quality.

Thanks again!

Charlotte x

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

