My Days winter box 2016 review

Unfortunately, the lady who runs the My Days boxes has decided to stop selling them, if you head over to the Facebook page she has some great closing down sales that I believe will be happening through the next few months to use up the last of her stocks. The page is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/MyDaysMonthly/

I had ordered myself the Christmas box back in September so I’m afraid I can’t remember exactly how much I paid for it but it was around £30 because I included a pad as an extra treat. I was very happy with this box and was very happy to see a personal note explaining that substitutions have been made for me as I can’t have bath products. Makes you feel like the organisers actually care about you, and it wasn’t only the bath products but my intolerance to onion and garlic that was taken into consideration, she checked all the products (as its often in crisps), which is great customer services!img_1876

On to the items in the box, I’ll start with the cloth pad as I haven’t had one from this box before. Tanzi (the owner) has a monthly order from Luna Chick and I must say, I’m impressed. The quality of the pad is amazing and it’s my first Christmas themed pad! Super excited over that, really wish I had ordered the scrundies to go with it as they look brilliant. This maker does a range of products, including clothing for women and children. If you interested, then take a look at hew Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/LunaChickUK/ or her etsy store here: https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/LunaChickUK?ref=search_shop_redirect

Staying on the theme of reusable products, I also received a Toggle Wheat bag from Ancient Wisdom. I love the idea of this bag but I found the smell a little off. I love lavender as a scent but this doesn’t really appeal to me as it smells a bit stale, I think that’s the best way to describe it. The quality of the bag is fantastic and I am thinking that I may just repack it with some fresh wheat and lavender. I have had products from this company before and they haven’t really impressed me. It’s closed with Velcro so it won’t be a problem to undo and use fresh after a wash. A great idea but I wouldn’t buy from Ancient Wisdom. There site is www.Ancient-Wisdom.info but I don’t think you can purchase here, they may only do bulk orders.

Sticking with fabric based products, there is a really adorable crocheted star ornament for the Christmas tree. I think its brilliant and a nice addition to the box. I’m not sure who the supplier is as it doesn’t have a label but if I find out I will add it here: I admit, I’m jealous of their crochet skills, mine have not improved much, should really practice more.

Ok, pamper goodies are next. The first of which is a Juicy Burst facemask It’s a paraben free mask from ooh-arr that sounds fantastic, will definitely be using it on my next pamper day. I will be taking it back to University with me as sometimes I really need a pamper when I’m there. For more information as well as how to purchase, there website is: http://www.ooh-arr.com/

The second pamper item is a nail brush, I’ll be honest and say I have no idea how to use one of these. I have seen them before and it looks like it’s a good quality, but I may need to google how to use it. Both of these pamper items were my replacement items, the initial pamper goody was a bath bomb, but I only have a shower.

There were a few scented items in the box like I handmade soap which was really nice, just a bit too strong for me and so it has been given to a friend, along with the Ancient Wisdom scented granules. They were pine scented and a little too sweet for my delicate nose. Great additions but better in the hands of my friend, sorted my stocking filler gifts out though!

Next we have the drinks. There is the usual Lichfields hot chocolate which I love. Honestly can’t recommend this brand of hot chocolate enough, the box is worth it just for this. I don’t have a link but I know it can be found on amazon. Also two different teas, we have our Pukka which is wild apple and cinnamon which I am saving to have on Christmas morning as I actually like apple tea so it’ll be a treat. The other tea is a Hampstead Organic Peppermint tea. Now with all my nausea and stomach problems recently, I am super happy to have this as I’ve been wanting to see if it helps settle my stomach but I didn’t want to buy a box in case it was wasted. I know I’m not a big fan of the taste but it’s worth it if it settles my tummy so thank you Tanzi! There is also a Peppermint Chai Latte, I’m a bit weary of it as it sounds good but I don’t particularly enjoy Chai, I’m actually saving this for Christmas as well as we have my brother and sister-in-law coming round so we can all try it together.img_1879

Next is the all important treats. We have two different bars of chocolate, the first being by AngeliQ which I haven’t seen before. It’s a 70% dark chocolate made of Peruvian cocoa which sounds fancy, it is an Orange and Cranberry flavour and is really nicely packaged. I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a fan of orange chocolate and so this is likely to go in my dad’s belly but I have tried it and wow is it dark. You can really taste the orange coming through and its not bad for dark chocolate, I can’t taste any cranberry though. If you like dark or orange chocolate, then I really recommend as even I wasn’t put off by the flavour and I’m fussy. The website is: http://www.iqchoc.com/ I’m impressed with their options and they are gluten, dairy, nuts, and soya free, they are also vegan. Very impressive, the website tells you which stores stock their chocolate near you and allows you to buy online. I’m going to order a few flavours in future I think, once my current stash is reduced a bit. On to chocolate bar number two, it is a Divine bar which I have heard off, and its Dark Chocolate with Cranberries and Hazelnuts, very festive. Again, very dark but the bitterness of the chocolate is reduced with the cranberries. I’m trying to eat darker chocolate as its healthier but not doing very well so far. This is good though, I ate an entire piece without pulling a face. I was a little sad that the bottom corner of the bar was slightly damaged but it didn’t affect the bar itself and this box is so full that I’m shocked that more things weren’t damaged! That is a compliment, not a criticism! Can’t believe how much was in this box!

There was a third chocolate item but this was in coin form. That right, 70% Dark Chocolate coins that are also from Divine. My only downside to this brand is that they aren’t gluten free. I’m not coeliac or gluten intolerant but a lot of my friends are and It would have been nice to share it, guess that just means more for me. The website for these is: www.divinechocolate.com if I’m honest, if it wasn’t for the fact I like the cranberry taste, I would say go to the IQ chocolate website that’s above instead, better quality and allergy awareness from what I can tell.

The final food item is a Perk!er Quinoa bar, it is Goji and Cranberry flavour, which if you can’t tell, I love cranberries. I had it on my break at work today and it was nice. Not my favourite health snack bar but I would buy more of them if I saw them. I’m not a large quinoa fan so that might be why I wasn’t blown away but, it had great flavour and it is gluten, wheat and dairy free as well as being vegan. If your any of these things and struggle to find snacks, then I recommend trying this. The website is: www.perkier.co.uk I would be quite interested in trying their porridge range, might be a healthier alternative for breakfast.

The final two items were the usual tealight candle, in a lovely orange scent which I’m happy with and a reusable facecloth, not as soft as the first one I received but it has baubles on it! I love it!

Thank you for reading, and buy these boxes fast before they stop being available! I’m sorry to see My Days closing as it’s been a great way to try new things. Yes, some of the things have not suited me, but I have found a lot of snacks that I now actively look for when I’m shopping, all tanks to the wonderful Tanzi. Sorry to see you go!

(Sorry there aren’t as many individual pictures, a few problems with my camera uploading)

Charlotte x

 

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

