Period blog/WIWTM Nov 2016

If any of you readers don’t want to read about menstruations, bleeding of the lady parts or the general monthly complaints of a women then look away now. Seriously, you have been warned.

For those of you still hanging in there, it’s that time again. I’m writing a little early then I usually would as I haven’t start yet. From day 17 of my cycle I have been getting mild cramps as though I was about to start but still not started and I’m technically due in two days. If you’re my regular readers, you’ll know I have been late for my more recent periods and I’ve been having a few health issues that have been effecting how I’m coping. I’m still ill every two weeks or so and have been taking various medications that the doctors are trying me on and I think they have been effecting my cycle as a whole rather than just the period itself. So, I thought this was something to note, medication really does effects your cycle, from it being late to the overall symptoms. I’ve been using Clue to keep track recently, not a big fan so far but I’m going to stick it out a bit longer as it is showing some patterns. For those of you taking medications, especially new ones, it is important to monitor you cycles! Any changes can show that something is wrong (or right) or being generally effected by the medicine and your doctor might ask you about these things to help with making a diagnosis. Now I’ll leave this little health update and will start writing again when the bleeding starts. My tenses will be all over the place as I write it both as a diary and retrospectively, please let me know if you want me to change this as it is confusing. I’ve written a bit differently this month just to see if it works a bit better.

So I started only two days late! I’m really happy with that, things finally seem to be settling back into my normal pattern. I’ve been a bit achy for the last few days and a tiny bit of brown spotting last night but didn’t start until this morning. I swapped over from lights onto a moderate around lunchtime, felt really queasy and bloated all morning but no cramps. The cramps hit in the afternoon when I was eating my tea and I grabbed my hot water bottle and took some ibuprofen to take the edge off. I have been taking Magnesium capsules for the past two days when I knew I was due to start, I wanted to see if they would take the edge off. So far my cramping isn’t bad so I’m hopeful, but I’m still going to have a hot shower and an early night just to get some rest. No lectures tomorrow so I can take it easy if anything gets worse.

So, this morning was hell. I woke up around 9am but my cramps were so bad that I couldn’t move, not even to my bedside draw to grab my painkillers and drink. I think I was a little delirious with the pain to be honest but all I wanted was a hot water bottle. In the end, I could finally move around 10ish and that was to the bathroom as I hoped nipping to the loo would help with the cramps, not only was it a bloodbath but I was stuck there for a while, still cramping. By 11 I had managed to take painkillers and grab a hot water bottle but still not eaten as I couldn’t stand long enough to grab food. Plus, today was delivery day so I didn’t have much in at that point. I actually went back to bed at 12 to try and sleep off the pain, and I had been so uncomfortable that I felt drained. I woke up again at 2 and I’ve been drugged all afternoon. I can move now but standing for longer than 5 minutes is not a good idea; I have managed a bowl of cereal and a cheese toasty though. My food came around 4pm and I live on the 2nd floor so had to carry a heavy tray of food (with milk, smoothies and juice) all the way upstairs and put it away before I collapsed onto my bed in pain. I have an assignment due Monday so I’ve tried to do some of that but things are a bit blurry today. I really am back to normal as this level of pain is usual for my cycle. So far it means the magnesium hasn’t worked. Early night for me tonight.

Day three and still a bit crampy so I took some painkillers this morning. I’m still quite heavy today and its making me feel a bit drained and I can’t be arsed to do anything. I’ve had another lazy day and just watched TV and my guilty pleasure, read fanfiction. My assignment has been left alone unfortunately so I’m not doing very well with that. Oh well, another early night before back to lectures tomorrow.

Day four brought bloating, nausea and more cramps. I think they were cause by the bloating more than regular cramps though. I’ve not been overly heavy today but still uncomfortable. The nausea was pretty bad and I’ve had no appetite and no motivation. Hopefully my stomach will calm down a bit overnight so I can focus on my assignments over the weekend, otherwise it’s going to be a long few days ahead.

Day five, I’m really drained today and finding it hard to focus again. I keep getting niggling headaches that aren’t helping at all. I still don’t have much of an appetite, I’m snacking to keep something in my stomach but I really don’t fancy food. My cycle has lightened up quite a bit but still wearing moderate pads, wouldn’t get away with lights yet. Still gassy and crampy, also been a bit constipated as opposed to the borderline diarrhoea of the first day, just one more thing to add to the discomfort of menstruation. Another early night tonight, but I’m doing work before I turn in.

Day six and I have lightened up a lot but still wearing my normal pads just in case things get heavier. Been getting a few headaches again today and I think they’re here to stay for the next week or so as my hormones level out. It would be wrong if I suffered only as I’m bleeding after all, mother nature must cause suffering for as long as possible as we cycle.

img_1864

We have reached the end, no spotting today, no cramps, no bloating. Still gassy and have a headache but that’s just how things go. It’s been a horrible and draining week that I’m glad is over. I have a stressful two weeks ahead with deadlines so I’m really hoping these headaches die down a bit in the next few days.

As always, thank you for reading! Please let me know if your disappointed with the new way I’m laying this out (lack of individual pictures).

Charlotte x

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

