Period blog/WIWTM for September 2016

Once again we have reached that time. The time I tell you all to look away if you have no interest in my cranky uterus. Yes, it’s period time.

So once again my cycle is late. I’m pretty thankful this month as I was due to start on the 16th which was also the day I was flying and messing around getting back to University, so it would have been awkward. I did get a bit achy on the day but that was probably just stress aches rather than actual cramps. In fact, I’ve been a bit achy all week since as I’ve been full of a cold, snotty nose, sneezing and everything. I felt pretty sure I was going to start on the Tuesday so I wore my new Harry Potter liner from Tortoise Wing Things, very comfy but wasn’t needed.img_1775

I did start a week and a day late rather than the two weeks it has been for the last few cycles. Yesterday I felt a bit bloated and a tiny bit achy so I put a liner on just in case. My Happy Hippos liner was a bit longer then I’d normally wear but was comfy enough to wear around the flat. img_1770

There was a bit of spotting so I knew it was imminent and so after my shower last night I put one of my little Essence of Eve liners on as a just in caseimg_1777

I was a bit worried that overnight it would start out heavy as it does that sometimes but thankfully it was just spotting. This usually becomes really heavy once I get out of bed and start walking around a bit and so I swapped over to my Huggally Wuggally Harry Potter pad.

img_1767Strangely I haven’t fully started, it’s very strange for me to still be spotting or at least very light on my first day. I had to nip out to the laundry and my HugWugs are a little thick for me to be comfy wearing them out and about, they’re my lazy pads. I swapped to my Sailor Moon Phoenix Rising pad which seems fitting as I’ve been binge watching the series over the last few days. Poor Sailor Venus won’t know what hit her, literally ha! It’s the afternoon now and I’m still very light but I’ve had to take some painkillers for my stomach as I was starting to get quite crampy.

img_1772

I was hoping to avoid too many painkillers this cycle as I was wanting to see if Magnesium soaks work but so far they haven’t. I’ve been soaking in Magnesium once a week for the last few weeks and might increase the amount of times for my next cycle. Thought I’d try a few herbal and vitamin type remedies for pain relief, but haven’t managed to buy them yet. The rest of the day was pretty much just spots of brown rather than red. It’s a little strange, but no cramps after I took the painkillers earlier. I’m now really worried that everything’s going to hit in the night and I have my first day of classes tomorrow. I’ve put my Unicorn hugwug pad on just in case as it’s comfy and a moderate to heavy pad so it should hold up to Niagara Falls if it takes place.img_1766

So there wasn’t a blood bath in my bed this morning which is great. I did wake up at 4 due to a noisy drunk hammering on the main door to the building and checked to make sure I was secure. I was still spotting slightly at that point (odd!) and didn’t need to change so I went back to bed for a few hours. I was feeling a bit queasy and crampy when I woke up and took some painkillers with my breakfast. Also I was bleeding a lot more then I had been so far. It hasn’t been extremely heavy yet and so I put on my Pad Thai crushed velvet pad for going to my first class.

img_1776 I was expecting to get a lot heavier as the morning went on and I did swap over to a heavy Essence of Eve pad after that first lecture as I was feeling a bit uncomfortable. No leaks or anything, just aware that I needed to swap. I left this pad on for the afternoon, so from 11 until around 3pm and I have been fairly heavy this afternoon and still no leaks. I love those pads! A bit crampy though so I haven’t moved much since I returned to my flat and have just cuddled with a hot water bottle. No more painkillers so far! img_1768Anyways, I swapped over to my new All Fluffed Up pad that has a straight front and rounded back. It’s pretty comfy so far and doesn’t have much movement so there’s hope for it to be a go to pad in future. My cramps have settled down for the afternoon but I’ve kept my hot water bottle heated at all times. If I can avoid horrible cramps completely I’ll be really happy.

img_1769 I’m starting to feel a little crampy this evening and I’m really tired so I’ve had a shower, changed into my pink elephant comfort cloth scrundies and Beauty and the Beast Crimson Moon pad and curled up for an early night. No classes until the afternoon so hopefully I’ll feel a bit more human tomorrow.

I did feel a bit more human when I woke up which was great. Also even though I had become a little heavier in the night I still wasn’t overly heavy. This cycle is being very strange! I swapped over to my new pique pad that I received in a trade and it’s my first time using that material and I’m in love. I’m ready to start doing another pad order! I left this moderate pad on from 10am through to 3pm and have been checking to see how it held up and no leaks at all! It also doesn’t feel wet or uncomfortable, I want more!

img_1774 I did have to swap it out at 3pm as I was heading to a class so I put on one of my OBV Tortoise Wing Things pad which is really thin and comfy. I did get a little crampy this afternoon especially once I’d eaten but I haven’t taken anything today and it didn’t last too long.img_1773

I’ve been a bit heavier through the afternoon but the pad held up really well! I swapped over around 10pm to a pair of Huggally Wuggally scrundies and my animal All Fluffed Up pad. An early night again tonight I think.

So today I woke up feeling a bit rubbish and so I didn’t really move from bed for a while. I’d only been spotting slightly so I stayed in the same pad from the night before and my pyjamas for the day. Yes, sounds gross but I honestly barely moved all day. I did have a shower later on and swapped over to my Walking Dead Leak Freak pad and then had an early night. Thankfully there was nothing that needed doing. Illness wasn’t period related as I’ve been ill for a while and it comes and goes, but it doesn’t half knock me down for a day or two.img_1764

Woken up with a bit of a headache this morning but I have classes today so I got straight up and showered. Again only very light spotting overnight, might get a little heavier during the day but to be honest it should just come to a stop this evening, I hope. Anyways I put on Lily and Leo Avengers pad for the day and feel pretty good, other than the headache.

So through the afternoon I steadily started to feel more nauseous and a bit woolly headed. So it looks like I’m going to have to head back to the doctors yet again as I’ve been like this since April and it’s still not sorted! Sick of feeling ill! On the plus side, no cramps and even though I’ve been heavier than I thought I would be, I’m still pretty light. Slowly starting to get back to spotting, should hopefully be over by tomorrow evening if I’m lucky. Will put my Splendid Story pad on overnight and see how I am in the morning.img_1784

I had very slight spotting overnight but it’s wasn’t significant. I changed over to one of my Moongazy cloth pads that I received to try the new design. I’ve had no cramping at all today and no further spotting so I think this cycle is over. Yay!img_1771

I did my first university wash which was a bit awkward as it’s communal laundry facilities, I might do a separate blog at a later date saying how I go about doing this discretely. Everything’s washed for now though and a ready for next month. I used 16 pads over this cycle. I have only received these four pads this month as my new pads. I have got two on the way but I’ll try and include those next month. The large pad is from Lazy Creek Boutique and the other three are from Lily and Leo the same as my Avengers pad.img_1783

Thanks as always for reading! Please click the follow button so I know your interested!

Charlotte x

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

