Those Freshers are lookin a bit crafty

I promise that I haven’t given up on my whole ‘learn a new skill’ resolution, it’s just going very slowly. I did make a few pompoms which I enjoyed but haven’t taken any photos of and they’re at home so I can’t show proof. I promise I made actual round pompoms though! Even tied them together and made a snowman, sewed a little hat and scarf and everything. I’ll show you all when I get home for Christmas.

Anyways, I am currently back at university for the Freshers week and have absolutely nothing to do before classes start next week and so I decided to focus on my reading and my crochet. I went into the local crafts store and she gave the advice that many of you have already given me. I was to buy a bigger hook and thicker wool. I did just that and here is the result.img_1734

Not perfect at all and for some reason it doesn’t maintain its shape. Is that because I change how tightly I pull the hook through the yarn do you think? I’m pretty proud of myself for what I have so far, planning to keep going so I have a very thin and misshapen scarf or something to that effect.

So it’s just a quick little update, I’m thinking of getting even thicker yarn and an even thicker hook but I’ll see how I feel next time I’m out shopping. Please send me ideas for fun things a beginner like myself can make as I would love to actually make something.

Thanks for reading!

Charlotte

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

3 thoughts on “Those Freshers are lookin a bit crafty”

  1. It looks a bit like you’ve maybe not worked into the top of the last stich of each row so you’ve decreased stitches. May I suggest watching some of Bella Coco’s crochet tutorials on YouTube? I think she explains it well and the videos show where to work the end stitch of each row. Good luck with crochet and uni. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

