My Days pamper box, July Box

I didn’t think I’d get the chance to write this review today as I’m going to see the new Star Trek film but it turns out that I’m going this evening and not the mid-day viewing so I have time to spare. Still can’t wait to see the film though!

So today I received my lovely July Pamper box from My Days. This is my second box from them and I have to say I’m not disappointed. Before I’d even opened the lid I could smell the goodies inside which made it all the more exciting. It comes really neatly packed and I swear the card is different than the one last month, shinier, but I can’t find the other one to compare. Maybe I’m imagining things, but it’s a really cute design anyways.

The first thing I picked up were the crisps that were sitting on the top. My mum will be sad to hear she didn’t get another pack of the lentil crisps (but not to fear I found some at a health food shop on my travels) instead I received, Pipers Crisp Co. Anglesey Sea Salt crisps! The website for them is www.piperscrisps.com and they are delicious. Very lightly salted and crispy and oh so yummy. I definitely prefer then to yucky lentil crisps, no offence to you lentil crisp ladies and gents! I don’t really eat a lot of crisps and so I can’t stop munching on these as I’m typing. My keyboard is going to be covered in salty finger prints but it’s worth it! Great addition to the box.

Next we have another sachet of hot chocolate, I received one of these in the previous box but it had leaked so I didn’t get to experience it in all its chocolaty glory. This month will be different, it’s a really creamy instant chocolate which is hard to find. I’m really happy to get another sachet and will treasure it until my cravings for chocolate start again. It’s a Fairtrade product by Lichfields but once again I can’t find a direct website for them so I’ll just tell you to find them on amazon because I’ve seen them available there before. I’ll be stocking up when it comes to the colder months.

Now onto the teas of the box. As I’m sure you’ve all realized by this point, I’m not a fruit tea drinker. In fact, anything other than English breakfast tea isn’t great to me. I do love trying them out though. I’m on a mission to find a healthy alternative to my usual tea. So far I’m unsuccessful. I’ll admit that the Dragonfly tea which is Indian Spice Chai does sound tempting. It is however an Organic Black Tea and I have a feeling it will be a bit too strong for me. I’ll save it for when my mum is around and that way if I don’t like it she can drink it. No I haven’t outgrown giving food and drink to my parents when I don’t like it, maybe I will when I’m 25 but for now they can have it! Anyways the website is www.dragonflyteas.com for those of you who are on the search for new teas to try and like Organic products.

The second tea is a Clipper tea and I’ve had one of these before and it was one of the nicer teas I’ve received, I wouldn’t buy it, but I managed to finish the whole cup. This one is a called ‘A bag of our Happy Mondays Infusion’ so maybe it’s something I can try after my shift on Monday? It smells quite citrusy which is a good start and I have to say I can’t wait to try this one out, could be a winner. There isn’t a website on the packaging but I have seen Clipper teas in health stores so they shouldn’t be too difficult to get hold of on your next shopping trip.

There’s a small tea light candle as well which is always a bit of a guessing game on what the scent and brand is. It smells very much like a berry in the box so I’m thinking blackberry. It smells great and I really wish I knew the brand so I could buy a box. I don’t use candles very often but this one isn’t overpowering and is really fresh smelling, would love to get some more.

There are also two handmade bars in this box. One is an Ylang Ylang and Orange Shampoo bar which smells a bit like I’ve walked into a Chinese herbal shop. It smells a little strange but quite fresh as well. I’ve read that Ylang Ylang is a flower that can be good as an antidepressant and relaxant, also an aphrodisiac which I don’t think I’ll be using it as. The orange is a little overpowered but there are still hints of it. I’m really cautious with what I use on my hair so I would have loved to know a bit more about what’s in this bar before I could use it. I might just use it as a hand soap instead.

The second hand product is a Dragonfruit soap. Unfortunately this is the one scent that I’m not a fan of. I find it a little too tangy for my tastes. The look of the bar is very pretty and I will be putting it by the sink in the bathroom so everyone can use it. Just not my personal favourite when it comes to scents. Prefer citrus or coconut if I’m honest. So love the look just not the smell.

Next up is the Ancient Wisdom, Dragons Blood gel scent and it looks amazing!  Again, the smell is a bit too strong for me and so I’ll probably be giving it to a friend, but I love the product itself. It’s packaged really nicely and gives good clear instructions and I really want to go take a look at the website. Usually strong scents as they are too overpowering for me and set off my migraines. I’m sad because I really like it and want to use them I just can’t, I might try popping them in a bowl as potpourri which I’ve just been advised by the lady who runs these boxes, Tanzi; that it might spread the scent a bit.  I initially thought this was a wax melt so apologise for any mix up. I really recommend taking a look at the site though because this pack will last for ages and if you like scented products then this is perfect for you! The site is https://www.ancientwisdom.biz/ and they do a massive range of products and so I might order a few candles instead.

On to another little snack. This one is a Ginger Teatox bar. I’m a little wary of this because I love ginger bars but the words Teatox are making me think Detox and Detox makes me think, shits. If this sends me to the crapper whilst watching Star Trek I will be very, very unhappy. So I have just nibbled a little bit from the top in the hopes of sampling the product without clearing out my system. Sorry if that is too much information and I’m sure this doesn’t have a laxative effect but you can never be too sure when it comes to Star Trek! A girl can’t take risks! On to how it tastes. It’s not too bad to be honest, I’d like it to have more of an overpowering ginger taste as it’s a bit sweet. It’s all natural products so to achieve a sweet taste they’re done well and it’s counted as one of your five a day so I’m happy. I’ll eat the rest of the bar tomorrow just to be on the safe side. I’ll be buying a box of these if it agrees with my sometimes finicky system. The website is www.creativenaturesuperfoods.com and for those of you that are trying to eat a bit healthier or are vegans these would be perfect snacks for you! It looks like they do a peanut one as well so I might try those when I place an order.

This box comes with a reusable facecloth in every box and this month’s one is a pure red cloth. I use the other one as I would a cotton ball and its super soft and I love it, this one isn’t as soft as it’s a different material but I still love the quality of it and will use it when I need to wash the other one.

The final snack I received is a bar of dark chocolate. It’s a Montezuma’s bar and I’ve never heard of or tried this brand before so I’m pretty excited by it. It’s called Dark Chocolate Spice it Up with Dragon Ginger. Now I have not been a fan of dark chocolate in the past but have been meaning to give it another chance as I know it’s a healthier option when it comes to chocolate. Also, ginger! It’s not too bad, a little too dark so I might try something that’s a lower percentage in future (this one is 93%) but I can definitely see myself munching on this whilst I’m watching TV. Could use a little more ginger if I’m being completely honest, but things never have enough ginger, or lemon, or banana. Yeah I like my flavours. Overall a good bar though. The site for them is www.montezumas.co.uk and they have a great selection of bars and are actually pretty cheap. Bring on pay day so I can stock up! They have a Lemon Meringue bar! Oh God! Well there goes this month’s money.

The final item is an add on item which I actually forgot I ordered. It’s a Sea Sponge tampon and is supposed to be a healthier alternative to disposables. Been meaning to try them out but I think I’ll chicken out and sell this on to someone else because it’s bigger than I thought it would be and I’m a wuss. If you’re a tampon person though I recommend you check them out. Maybe treat yourself to a box and add it on like I did. The boxes are only around £16  anyways (not including postage) so you might as well treat yourself! This box was themed around Dragons and so I can’t wait to see what the next months holds.

Thanks for listening to my rambles and as you can tell, this was one very full box! So many goodies, some I’ll use and some I’ll pass on to others. I’m going to go finish that packet of crisps now and bide my time until Star Trek!

Charlotte x

 

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

