A crafty update

Today has been a bit of a crafty day again as I’ve tried a few new little projects. Both with my cloth pad making and my crochet. I’ll start with the cloth pads. I’ve managed to make a few more from my own penned out design and I’m getting a lot better at my top stitching. Still need to work on my starting stich as my pads don’t turn over very symmetrically. I tried altering my design slightly and things ended up a little better but my wings didn’t look very nice. I’ll work on my original design again and try a few new things.

I did try to do an exposed core pad as well as I’ve seen a few videos and tutorials on how to do this and really wanted to try it out but my sewing machine didn’t want to cooperate with me. The thread keeps snagging or breaking. I’ve tried changing threads, rethreading an altering the thread tension but none of this seemed to help. I’ve given up for today and I think I’ll give it another go soon.

As for the crochet, I’ve tried little crochet flowers and haven’t done very well. I got a bit sick of doing straight rows and ending up with off shape squares and thought I’d try something else. It hasn’t worked so far but I’ll keep having a go when I get the chance. I haven’t included pictures because it went so wrong it pretty much unravelled and so I have nothing to show for my effort, but trust me, it looked great….ish.

A bit of a short update but I honestly haven’t been up to much this week. Will try and be a bit busier next week and maybe get a few more reviews done. It’s my own fault, I’ve been watching a new anime and got a bit caught up with it. It’s called ‘Free!’ and it’s about a swimming club which sounds boring but it has a lot of really likeable characters. I heard about it through a YouTube channel that I follow, ‘Dollastic’ who gets really excited about loads of stuff and is really fun to watch, she really cheers you up so here’s her link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCI_DrjoooGWVxAPt7N3Ybag

If there’s anything you want me to write about or if you have any crochet patterns you think I should try out please let me know!

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

