Period blog, cloth cycle 2

Okay, if you’re reading this and your only doing so because you’re a close friend or family member then I give you permission to turn away now. This is my oh so lovely detailed tale of this month’s menstrual cycle and I understand that not everyone will want to read about the ‘wonderful’ evacuation of the uterus. Again, turn back now! You shall not pass!

Anyone still here? Perfect! Okidokie, so this month was a complete and utter bastard. I’ve been off work for the last two weeks for a bit of relaxation and thought, ‘perfect! I’m due to start.’ I was due on the very first Saturday that I had off and thanks to good old Aunty Flo (who hates me) me period actually started on the Sunday that’s just gone. For those of you who know me, you’ll know I get extremely painful menstrual cramps and can’t be completely unable to walk and so starting on this Sunday just happened to coincide with the end of my two weeks off and I was due back at work on the Monday. Sod’s law right there! I thankfully started when I first woke up so there was no mess to worry about. I’d actually had a feeling I was going to start and so I’d worn one of my own homemade pads to bed that night, just in case. If you’ve seen my previous sewing blog, you’ll know how new I am to sewing anything but I am proud to announce that my first cloth pad worked! No leaks and it cleaned perfectly without any stains. Now I just need to buy snaps so it can be worn properly.

On to the rest of my Sunday. Fairly soon after I realised I had started my cramps began. I was relatively lucky this cycle as usually I have them the day leading up, the full night of (with no sleep), and for around two to three days in. This time they hit around lunch on Sunday. I was in enough pain that I didn’t want to leave my bed and clung to my hot water bottle as though it were ‘my only hope’. It wasn’t the worst it could be though as I could still get to and from the bathroom if I really needed to. I’d taken some ibuprofen around 11 knowing that my stomach would start and I just had a lay down in bed. I didn’t move in fear of making the pain worse and ended up having a bit of a nap. Got up again around 14.00 and felt achy but alive and so I had a bit of food so I could take my next dose of pills. I wasn’t too bad, fairly heavy but manageable. Wore maybe 3 or 4 pads in total, whereas if I was still on disposables it would have been around 6, so impressed so far.

The return to work was a bit daunting as I’m on my feet a lot and dealing with patients throughout the day and so feeling crampy isn’t great for a day of standing and trekking through corridors. I’m a Healthcare Assistant for those who don’t know. I took some ibuprofen when I woke up with my breakfast and took some heat pads, just in case. I have never had such an easy second day of my period before In my life! I was a little achy and crampy the closer I got to lunch but I could still walk! I was a very happy chappie. I was still pretty heavy and went through 5 pads, but that’s more for comfort then a real need to change them. I was amazed by my Essence of Eve pads as I was a bit dubious about the claims of being heavy pads but they were great. I’ll do individual reviews though in the coming few weeks.

The following two days there was no cramping at all but my stomach was a bit sensitive and wasn’t feeling very hungry. I used 3 pads a day including the overnight pads so I wasn’t too heavy. I had quite a few headaches though and felt a bit dizzy, probably because I wasn’t eating enough. No stomach cramps though thankfully.

The final day, no stomach cramps and only the one pad. I felt really queasy and dizzy and actually had to have a nap after I finished my shift. Still felt rubbish and my stomach was a bit off. Usually I do feel like I have a bug when I’m on my period but this cycle I have to wonder if I have in fact had a bit of a stomach bug. Or maybe an ear infection which is causing the dizziness because I still feel a bit off today and my cycle has ended.

Anyways back to the period. It was a short 5 day cycle for me that started heavy and stayed that way for the first 3 days. This is my second full cycle with all cloth pads and so far I have been a lot comfier and I love picking out which pads to use! All the patterns make things a bit more entertaining. Like I said, I will start uploading pad reviews so if there are any brands you’d like to hear about or if there is any particular information you’d like to know about pads, please let me know so I can include it.

Thanks for reading!

Charlotte x

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

