June Treat Trove Period box

13567180_10209734241896823_5161473317122950622_n

Sorry for the late review, I actually received this box early last week and just haven’t had a chance to sit down and type this up. This is a review of the monthly subscription box that I have been getting since April. The Treat Trove is a UK based company and do a range of boxes and products on their website: http://thetreattrove.co.uk/

They have a selection of different boxes the majority of which include reusable cloth menstrual pads. It’s perfect for someone who is interested in trying them out but doesn’t know which brand or style they would prefer as it will provide a range of styles over time. They vary in prices usually around £18-30 depending on the box. I buy the Period box which is £24.95.

In this box I received two different cloth pads from two new makers. One was a Craft Mummy Makes pad which is I believe an bamboo velour pad so it’s extremely soft and was a gorgeous colour. Unfortunately its shape really doesn’t suit me, it’s far too wide at around 4” when closed and doesn’t fit in my undies at all. It’s very floppy and soft and I do love the material it’s just not for me.

The second pad is a Chubby Joes pad and is in a really nice Peace print. The size of it was a bit of a worry at first as it looks like it fastens quite wide, but because it’s not as floppy as the other pad it actually sits really nicely. It doesn’t move once it’s fastened and it[s a decent size so I really like it. https://www.facebook.com/chubbyjoescloth/

You also get a little interlabial pad which I haven’t actually tried yet. They’re supposed to be really good for people with heavy periods to stop the (sorry if this grosses you out) gushing. It’s a very soft material and I’ll use it on my heavier days to try out in the future, but it’s not been much of an issue for me so far.

On to the extra little goodies, you get a nice little mirror which easily fits into your handbag or purse. Mine has a nice anchor print on it which I like. I was actually looking to get myself one of these just before the box came so I’m happy I didn’t buy the one I saw in the shop. It’s cute and a nice touch.

This box didn’t come with many sweet items which I was quite sad about, you do get a nice chocolate lolly stick. It’s quite small and while very tasty, it didn’t really satisfy my monthly chocolate cravings. It was provided by Choco Loco and I do recommend you check them out because the chocolate was milky and lovely. These lollies would make a great little party bag addition.

Next in the box was a little wet bag, pouch, thing. It’s fairly small and would fit nicely into your handbag. It’s made of a wet bag, waterproof material so it would be great for people that go swimming and want to take some pads or make up but don’t want to risk them getting wet. It’s made by Holly Willow and it’s nicely made, neat stitching. My only down side to it is that I received a floral print, I really am not a floral girl so I will probably pass this on to a friend.

You get another wax melt which is different to the ones received in the previous boxes as it’s a bit larger and has a fun design. Mine is a Hot Pink Lime scent which does smell great. It’s a bit big for my melt holder so I’m going to have to break it down to use it. It’s made by Butterfly Scents who’s website is: http://butterflyscents.co.uk/

The final item is a Swirl soap from Knick Knacks Attic. Mine is a Passion Fruit swirl which does smell amazing. I’m not going to open this just yet though so I can’t comment on how it feels, I’m planning on taking it to university with me when I start back up in September. It’s my little treat for when I’m back to no cash. Their website is: http://www.knickknacksattic.co.uk/

So all in all it’s not been a bad box. I have to admit it isn’t my favourite box so far just because the pad doesn’t work for me and if I’m honest, the little extras just didn’t seem enough. I still recommend this box fully, especially to those just starting out with cloth or who want a treat. The items in this box are lovely and well made it just didn’t suit me personally. More chocolate or sweets or snack bars! The customer service for this company is amazing so if you have any questions then feel free to ask the ladies over on their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/thetreattrove/?fref=ts

Thanks for reading!

Charlotte x

 

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

