Dabbling with a sewing machine

For those of you following my crochet progress, I haven’t given up! I am still working on it but the square has yet to appear. I am getting neater lines but around half way through I change the tension I use and it becomes misshapen. I’ll update the progress once there’s more to report.

I haven’t stopped there though. I managed to purchase a cheap £10 sewing machine to be able to make my own cloth menstrual pads and I’ve been enjoying trying my hand at that. I’ve only ever used a sewing machine back in high school, maybe once or twice. The neatness of my work leaves a lot to be desired but I’m getting better and am pretty proud of my progress so far. I love finding materials and hunting down really nice prints of fabric. Mainly bought star trek or Spiderman themed cotton for when I get a bit better. It’s my incentive to progress.

I was given a box of old fabrics some of which I don’t know what they are. I started out using these before I ruined anything I’d spent money on. My first attempt, well that didn’t work very well.IMG_1180

I’d just brought the machine home and spent around an hour, maybe two; trying to thread the bastard. I managed and had to try my hand at sewing a pad immediately. I didn’t draw any template or have any idea what I was doing, as the result clearly shows. I’ll also say that threading a sewing machine is a skill I never knew existed. I ended up taking the entire thing apart with a screwdriver thinking I was missing something. I wasn’t it was just hard dammit!

My second attempt went a little better than the first. The thread isn’t very straight and the colour is a bit off for the lighter fabric, but it’s not a disaster. I didn’t use a proper centre, just scrap material to see if I could make a pad. I was pretty proud of myself to be honest.

I spent last night drawing up a basic template which I will be tweaking. I then used my own fabrics to make a usable pad. I’m super proud of myself! It looks and feels like a pad! The thread is a bit pulled in places but not too bad. It only needs snaps to be complete and I don’t have any of those yet because I can’t afford any extras. After pay day I’ll be buying me some snaps.

So yeah, this is my new, learn a new skill. I will continue my crochet, but I think I enjoy sewing a little more than I expected. The excitement may wear off but I doubt it.

Thanks For reading!

Charlotte x

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

