Crochet, not for the elderly

Okay I made today about learning something new. I am wanting to be craftier and maybe reach a point where I can crochet blankets or make canvas bags or maybe even my own cloth pads. With all that in mind I dug out my old crochet magazine subscription that I ordered a few years ago and never got around to doing anything with it. Today’s goal, crochet a single square. The result, not good. I managed some kind of mangled rectangle. Well a curling thread bare rectangular shaped thing. It took me about an hour to manage something about four lines long as I kept having to go back and start again.

When you see these lovely little old ladies with arthritis and God only knows what else; and they’ve somehow made an entire babies outfit in a single 30 minute bus ride. It’s not as easy as they make it look people! I came close to tears more times than I can count and eventually I have had to give up for the day. We need to save the elderly from the evils of crochet, their poor hands! I would even recommend it as a method of torture, “You there! Prisoner 3448, you must make 15 perfectly equal squares, and I mean now,” poor bastards would crack in minutes.

 I followed all the instructions and manipulated my hands to hold a single stupid piece of thread in a weirdly distorted position and in the end I accomplished a bloody rectangle! Tomorrow, tomorrow is the day I will complete a square. For now I’m going to look at my tiny rectangle and sob in despair. Why did I think this was a good idea? Who needs skills outside of computer games and reading books anyways? I will keep trying and eventually a square shall be achieved. If not, my next task is sewing, and maybe knitting, or beads! I like beads! I could maybe even regress back to my teenage years and stick to making friendship bracelets. I’m sure I still have a supply of threads somewhere. Anyways, practice makes perfect, I will not give up, not yet!DSCF2310

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

