The start of it all

The start of CSP

Okay so this is something I never thought I’d be doing. I’m going to be documenting everything I experience regarding menstrual products. I will be letting you know what I go through both good and bad and I’ll let you know which makers I like. Initially I will be telling everyone about my recent change over to reusable menstrual products. I know, I know. A very taboo subject, that which must never be spoken about. Don’t worry though, I’ll be going into as much grisly and gory detail as possible. To be honest it will mostly be my reviewing of particular brands and styles, maybe the occasional rant about stomach cramps and how I personally handle them (or not as the case usually is). If this is something you’re not bothered about reading then I’m not going to force you. I’m writing this in order to help people, like myself, who are wanting to swap over or just want to know more about what available. I discovered reusable menstrual products through Bryony Farmer, aka Precious Star Pads. She has her own YouTube channel and if you want to know anything about the range of products that are available, then please check her out at:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC5jJ_1US1DjRYJF_WU4sQ5

The initial thing that I had to consider was the cost of cloth pads. How much would these pads realistically cost me? The answer to that really does seem to depend on the person. I love all the different styles and patterns that are available and went a bit mental. I ordered far too many pads before I’d even tried them out. I bought cheaper pads from amazon that were three for £14.99 which I have now discovered is a really good price. Whether or not they’re any good I have yet to discover, but I will review all my pads individually once I’ve tried them. I also bought pads from reputed designers, a lot of which are based overseas. These only cost more because you then have to factor in postage cost, but they look great so I couldn’t resist. The cost of a beginner set would probably be around £30-100 depending on which supplier you use and how many you want to start out with. If you just want to try one pad to see how it feels then I recommend you don’t do what I did and spend a fortune. You should have a look around at the suppliers that are local to you. Read reviews, watch YouTube channels and see if anything jumps out at you. If you want something easy then amazon is a safe bet, but make sure you get something absorbent and not just a panty liner thickness. You want to try the real thing not have a disaster in your pants. Any questions on what channels to watch or any brands that I found easy to deal with, then feel free to ask, I don’t bite, often.

I have to admit this is the first time in my life that I’ve actually looked forward to my period, usually it’s the thing I dread and rearrange my life around. This time I couldn’t wait to try out all of these pads. I love them so far and will review each of them as I use them. Eventually I will know what I like and will be able to tell you the pros and cons of different fabrics and styles. For now, please bear with me as I describe my initial reactions and experiences with the pads. I’m new to this reusable world, I’ve been an Always or Bodyform girl for so long that it’s a big change for me. It’s pretty exciting though.

Author: Charlies words of wisdom

I'm a 24 year old part time health care assistant and full time English and Creative Writing University student. I live on the Isle of Man which is in the UK and study at the University of South Wales near Cardiff. I love animals so you may hear about my pets a lot. I also get addicted to new products very easily so prepare for excited ramblings

Leave a Reply

